Tour - Releases - Songs - Links - Contact


The Cruel Sea

Tex Perkins' Dark Horses

Beasts of Bourbon

Tex, Don & Charlie

Tex Deadly & The Dum Dums

Sekret Sekret

Tex Perkins & His Ladyboyz

band pic

Beasts Of Bourbon

The Beasts of Bourbon grew from simply being a side project to become a true supergroup of the Australian pub rock scene. Forming in Sydney in 1983, the original Beasts lineup comprised Tex Perkins (vocals, later of the Cruel Sea), Spencer Jones (guitar, also with the Johnnys), James Baker (drums, and a Hoodoo Guru) and a pair of Scientists in guitarist Kim Salmon and bassist Boris Sudjovic. The band began playing together in small venues in Sydney, recording their first album, The Axeman's Jazz, in a single afternoon in 1984. Despite the album becoming an underground success, the Beasts continued to be just a side project for its members. It wasn't until 1988 that this situation began to change. With both the Johnnys and the Scientists imploding, the Beasts reformed to record arguably their best album, Sour Mash. The swamp-rock of The Axeman's Jazz had given way to a fusion of blues-based pub rock and punk with great effect. 1990's Black Milk expanded on this idea. 1991's The Low Road saw the addition of two new members. Baker and Sudjovic left the group to concentrate on their band the Dubrovniks, and were replaced by Tony Pola and Brian Hooper from Salmon's then band the Surrealists. In 1993, a double album (From the Belly of the Beasts) was released to mark the group's ten years together, and the group toured extensively in support of the album. Following the tour, it appeared as if the Beasts would announce their demise. Salmon left the group to concentrate on the Surrealists and Perkins' group the Cruel Sea was achieving huge success with their album The Honeymoon is Over. However, the group reformed in 1996 with former Divinyl Charlie Owen on guitar and released Gone in 1997. The album received lukewarm reviews, but managed to produce a minor single in the form of "Saturated". Jonathan Lewis

Perkins Tex 1983-1985,1988-1993,1996-1997

Pola Tony 1990-1993,1996-1997
Baker James 1983-1985,1988-1990
Rixon Brett 1984
Freidenfelds Johnny 1983
Ploog Richard 1983

Spencer Jones (bv) 1983-1985,1988-1993,1996-1997
Charlie Owen 1996-1997
Kim Salmon (harm,bv) 1983-1984,1988-1993
Stu Spasm 1984-1985
Tony Thewlis 1984
Brad Shepherd 1984
George Spencer 1983
Terry Doolan 1983

Hooper Brian 1990-1993,1996-1997
Sujdovic Boris 1983-1984,1988-1990
Hood Graham 1984-1985
Ferrie Mark 1983


Website created by Ritchie K productions
with a lot of help. Copyright 2015.
All Rights Reserved. Full legal notice
and privacy pollicy available here.